• wordpress hit counter
  • Welcome to the PiPP weblog! A site dedicated to providing you with information on every stage of your pregnancy journey....come on in...stay awhile...join in the conversation! Come visit our facebook page... Partners in Pregnancy and Parenting (PiPP) is an initiative of the Indian River Healthy Start Coalition and the Indian River Medical Center. It is funded in part by the United Way of Indian River county.
  • Watch the video

  • Categories

  • This internet blog provides information of a general nature and is designed for the purpose of education, and information. If you have any concerns about your health or the health of your baby, you should always consult with a physician or other healthcare professional.

Guided imagery and positive affirmations….

e7d9ef6189a381346ae1033a0a0ae24e

In a recent  Pregnancy Myths class a 37 week pregnant mom shared a new tool of hers….A guided imagery app for her phone.

 

The idea of guided imagery is to listen to positive affirmations….or positive thoughts about your pregnancy and body and baby. It can be extremely relaxing. Which is only a good thing. And…if you listen to it regularly (right before you nod off) . You are almost re-training your brain to think positively and believe wholeheartedly in your ability to birth this baby. 

The following is from a mother, with a link to a free guided imagery segment:

“This is the ultimate in meditation pregnancy and guided imagery!. I used it with my last pregnancy it was life changing. I would listen to it when resting or at night as I drifted off. My husband even joined in and loved it! I just found the podcast online yesterday for free so I had to share! Skip the into. Listen to #2 and #3 as often as you can and #3 and #4 in the last few months of your pregnancy. Enjoy!”

http://www.healthjourneys.com/kaiser/healthyPregnancy_flash.asp

Do you HAVE to listen to someone else’s voice? No but it can be very helpful.

Affirmations are positive suggestions that help to arrange your state of mind to feel great. Pin them on your bathroom mirror and read them to yourself every morning upon waking and every night before going to bed, either out loud or in your mind. Another idea is to record yourself saying these affirmations and listen to them during your day.

So take some time to think about and write down some positive things that you would like to remind yourself of. They should be statements that make you feel safe, they should invoke positive, peaceful, calm and loving feelings about your pregnancy and birth. And remember to always use positive phrasing.

A few examples:

“I love my pregnant body and I feel Great!”

“I know that my baby is growing healthy and strong inside of me now.”

“I trust birth, and I allow my body to easily lead me.”

“I know that there is no limit to how deeply I can relax.”

“I look forward to our birthing time.”

“I know that my baby will be born peacefully.”

Now go say something good to yourself!

Your baby will thank you…

96dd34a3c60833515bcc999f33631e82

One Response

  1. Great article.Thanks for sharing.Its really interesting.

Leave a Reply

